Autumn

Screen Shot 2016-05-11 at 00.21.15

It has been ages since I last posted, I confess. So much has happened over these past (couple?) of years that when I opened this blog today, it was like opening a time capsule. I saw a different me; an amazing person from my past rattling off thoughts courageously without a second thought, experimenting with different types of art and reading till I couldn’t decide which reality I would rather stay in.

I was hit with nostalgia because I suddenly remembered every inspiration and moment of creativity that I now miss so much. I wonder where all that time went. I suppose when you grow up, there are more important things for time to be spent on than to sit down alone in the peace of your room and just read, or write, or draw or let your mind wander.

Though in the midst of all the stress and exams and interviews and decisions that was the past year, I learnt a few things that I will carry with me throughout my life. Note to self:

Everything happens for a reason

Yes, it’s true. Before you think about it long enough to start wondering about our control over choice and parallel universes*, think about this simple truth. When things don’t go your way no matter how hard you tried, no matter how much you wanted it especially when you (kinda) knew you did your best, the next best thing could be what you were really meant for. Maybe, in another universe I would be a physicist and enjoying every second of it. Similarly in another one, I could still be a physicist except I’d be sitting depressed in a room full of equations I don’t understand. All I know for certain, is that in this one (due to a decision that I made) I am going to be a doctor who is going to make a difference to the world in her own way (even if it’s not by discovering the Theory of Everything) and I can finally say, there is no other place that I would rather be.

*Okay, maybe it does have to do with multiverses  (or maybe I just like to think it that way because physics)

You will NEVER know if you never try (trust me on this)

Basically, probability. If you never try, there will never be a possibility of you getting what you want. It’s like betting a heads without flipping the coin. No sample space. No possible outcome. No matter how improbable, be brave and break free from comfort zones.

Luck is 90% hardwork

Yeah so your life is not as simple as flipping a coin. If it was, then logically, your outcomes would be worth the effort you put in; simply nothing. Working hard opens new windows of oppurtunity for success – higher probability 😉

Be positive

Give positive vibrations to the universe and the universe will reverberate it back to you. I don’t know the science behind this yet, but it sounds interesting and from experience I can truly say this is legit. For what it’s worth, positivity, smiling and optimism reduces stress, makes you age less AND causes less acne breakouts. To me, this is foolproof.

Value those you love

Shouldn’t even have to be said, but it is important. People who value your happiness are the ones that you will remember forever. Give them the care and appreciation they deserve for all the times they sacrificed for you without thinking twice.

Life doesn’t get in the way. It’s how you make the most of it.

Long story short, no matter how ‘busy’ you become and get carried away with the generic tide of life (work, university etc), just keep in mind that there is always a balance. Life is more than that. And you only have one of it. Take chances, make friends, take care of yourself and enhance your talents and passions.

Seize the day

And whilst growing up, don’t forget who you once were.

{shamelessly inserts Doctor Who quote, because my life is really a series of DW quotes}

We are all different people, are through our lives and thats good, you have to keep moving, as long as you remember all the people that you used to be.

You will never cease to amaze yourself at how far you’ve come 🙂

Well that’s that folks. Didn’t think I’d go off on a tangent, but I think this is like a beginning of a new chapter in terms of this blog, and I am very excited to see whats going to happen next. To be honest, this has probably  been the highlight of the most tiring day I’ve had this week.

Screen Shot 2016-05-11 at 01.46.20.png

On one final note, here is one more beautiful picture of Sydney. It is one of my favourites. And in case I forgot to mention, this is where I stay now (or at least as the photograph depicts where my head does, when I’m in uni).

A penny for your thoughts.

