D is for the Domino Effect.

When colours are debated. 

“I think I’m better than you,”said the piano.

The domino looked around , sensing the question was directed to it,  it said,” I think you’re wrong.”

The piano let out a rumble,” I wasn’t talking to you, you fool.” It then motioned to the sleeping zebra painting on the wall. How rude.
The domino lay still in it’s box. “Either way, you’re still wrong.”

“And why is that?” said the piano, who was, at that point, too vain to notice the obvious.
The domino hopped out of its box and looked at the piano with its six white eyes.
“I’m a domino. And you’re a piano. How can either of us be better than each other ?”
The piano simply ignored the domino completely, only because it was too vain to admit that it didn’t understand.
“I’m still better than you. All of you.”

Domino then realised that it was talking to a not only vain but an intellectually deprived piano. It rephrased its reply, “What I meant was, how can we be better than one another, if we are utterly different objects. There will be nothing to compare. After all, I’m a domino, I may better at tipping and getting up, but it’s merely impossible for me to make music. You on the other hand, have the musical upper hand but would probably die the moment you fall.”

The piano didn’t respond, for awhile, and the domino was already prepared for yet another unintelligible response from the piano,when,
“I for one, agree with you. I understand what you are trying to say. I mean if we, for instance, were carrying out an experiment on who was better at what, we would have to have a constant variable in order to ensure that the responding variable isn’t affected by any other external disturbances besides the intended manipulated variable which is appropriately chosen and changed to identify the variation in the ‘better’ qualities of the respective objects.”

The domino almost fell over in surprise. The piano coughed.
” Erm, I’m still here you know.”
The domino looked at the fellow instrument who was playing some random notes to overcome its boredom (confusion).
“Excuse- me…” A yawn suddenly interrupted the atmosphere.
The domino looked up and found the painted zebra awake from it’s sleepy state. ” I’m sorry, but as I was – saying – I agree with you…’
The domino was almost relieved. He rather preferred a stupid piano to a smart one. It would make him sound smarter all the time next to it.
The now awake zebra continued, “So, how then will we see who is better?”

This time it was the piano who spoke up, “Better at what?”
This revelation led the other two speechless,
Until,
“Exactly.” said the domino who didn’t want to look like the stupid one. The zebra however was more honest (oblivious).
“Exactly what?”
The piano studied the situation ( something it rarely did but since this was its problem in the first place, it felt it ought to solve it ( and win it))
“I know!” the zebra exclaimed suddenly, earning a dissapointed sigh from the piano and leaving the domino to rethink its self proclaimed level of intelligence.

“What is it?” the other two replied in unison.
” I found it – I found our constant variable.”
At that point the piano look rather lost, zebra  urged on anyway.
“Our colours. We’re all black and white!”
“OH!” said the other two, finally getting it. The zebra beamed.
“But wait,” said the piano, refusing defeat. “That still doesn’t answer the question : what are we better at?”

The zebra’s shoulders heaved. The domino tipped over again.
There was a long silence until the domino leaped up (again), determined to regain its lost dignity.
” I understand! You see, colours don’t matter. I don’t think they even make a difference. We may all be black and white but I’m still a domino, zebra is still a zebra and piano is still a piano,” the domino continued, ignoring the blank faces of its friends. “Colours are just an outward or physical characteristic of an object or person or animal or anything! It’s whats on the inside that is important. What we do, what we say, what we think, that’s what really matters. That’s what truly counts. So even though, we may be the same or different on the outside, matters little, but if we do the same thing on the inside, well only then will it leave space for comparison.”

And just as domino ended his heartfelt monologue, piano shed a tear (metaphorically speaking, of course). Zebra couldn’t even cry because he was just a painting. And domino couldn’t smile, because he didn’t have a mouth. Then where does his voice come from, you might ask? Well, some things are better left unsaid.

As for colours ; we all are. We all have them, its just the matter of the comparison of certain colours of the same colours.

Shades.

Yes, I think thats the word for it.  And emotions are what controls our shades. It may turn out to be the ugliest shade or the most beautiful shade of all…

But that, is for us to decide, on the inside.

Conclusion: White is not a colour. Black is a colour that balances it out. Grey is a colour too. Then what is its shade?

Solution: Ask a panda.

5 thoughts on “D is for the Domino Effect.

  1. Hey! I know where that phrase came from! I like this, definitely one of your more eccentric pieces. Which is good! It reminds me of what MJ once quoted; “It don’t matter if you’re black or white.” Or both 😀

  2. Hehe 🙂 Thanks. I can’t help but note the irony of this comment! Slim Shade-y. You know with all that blabbering about colours and stuff even sometimes I don’t understand. Whether it is obvious in my writing or not, I just make things up as I go along… How’s Freight Train? doing, by the way?

  3. Who dat brotha? By the way, after reading this I have come to the conclusion that you should consider writing and illustrating children’s novels. I’m pretty sure that story was filled with various non-judgemental moral values 😀

    1. I think not : refer : EQUATING EMOTIONS

      It’s a nightmare. A child would probably be traumatized after reading that (if a parent would allow a child to read such a thing in the first place… I would) But thats what you get when you try and go into the shoes of Jim Moriarty ( not a good role model, kids)

      Anyhoo, yes, children’s books sounds pleasing. I like drawing so that’ll be useful in easing the little minds of my readers ( and moulding them to create clones of me.) *maniacal laugh*

      1. Correction: A child wouldn’t understand that. If they did then I guess I must be extremely unintelligent. Oh well, I guess you don’t have to be very smart if you spin bottles and transport mortals to different dimensions 😀

A penny for your thoughts.

