Light against the Misty Mountains

Happiness! I actually did something very beneficial over the past week and here it is!

Far over the Misty Mountains cold,
To dungeons deep and caverns old,
We must away, ere break of day,
To seek our pale enchanted gold.
The pines were roaring on their heights,
The wind was moaning in the night,
The fire was red, it flaming spread,
The trees like torches blazed with light.

A painting of the Misty Mountains inspired from the Hobbit / the LORD OF THE RINGS trilogy. I tried to be as whimsical as possible in displaying of what I thought the Misty Mountains would probably look like in the fantasy world. Although, it didn’t turn out as dark as I imagined it to be, I am still very proud of it. And yes, I did sketch and paint this in good old pencil and brush. No, I did not use my iPad because the iPad cannot do everything, or so I am being told, recently. I have to disagree, but from an artist’s point of view, I have to say that nothing beats the real thing. I doubt the iPad will (I am not going to ‘ever’ because it probably undeniably will, in a matter of time) be able to capture the richness and the realness and the unmistakable scrawl of the pencil and paintbrush. There.

I would never have brought myself to draw this, had it not been, the beautiful soundtrack in the latest Hobbit movie trailer that finally opened my eyes and made me envision my piece.


One thought on “Light against the Misty Mountains

  1. I saw this at your place! 😀 I love it. It’s really creative and unique, how everything is all colour coordinated, the colours blend in really well. I like to imagine that that’s what I look like after eating a mint, hahaha!

A penny for your thoughts.

