Memories from Middle-Earth

Hi again! Just finished the first half of the book ‘The Fellowship of the Ring’ (the first installment of the Lord of the Rings trilogy) and I’m really excited to finish the rest of it. Honestly, I was first introduced to the series through the movies which came out in the early 2000s but now, that I’m older and finally understand the true meaning of the story, I started reading the actual original books. The movies were amazing and now I’m not really surprised to say the same for the books. I mean J.R.R Tolkien might as well have been related to all the other brilliant minds in the world to have produced such breathtaking novels. Even after reading the first part of the first book, I’m already at the edge of my seat. Also, I have to take my hat off to  Peter Jackson for staying true to the original books unlike some directors who prefer to add an unnecessary ‘twist’ to the story which really, really,  spoils it in the end. Coming from a fan who watched the movies first rather than reading the books, I think Peter Jackson really stole the show with the amazing sceneries and music ( in fact, I just downloaded the entire soundtrack by the London Philharmonic Orchestra 🙂 ). He also didn’t change much of the fantastic dialogues which is good because almost the entire book is quoted from start to finish. I think for me, one the most memorable scenes/ dialogues was at the end of the Two towers (second movie) between Samwise Gamgee , Frodo’s willing companion on his journey to Mount Doom, and the ring bearer himself, Frodo Baggins.

Frodo: I can’t do this, Sam.
Sam: I know. It’s all wrong. By rights we shouldn’t even be here. But we are. It’s like in the great stories, Mr. Frodo. The ones that really mattered. Full of darkness and danger, they were. And sometimes you didn’t want to know the end. Because how could the end be happy? How could the world go back to the way it was when so much bad had happened? But in the end, it’s only a passing thing, this shadow. Even darkness must pass. A new day will come. And when the sun shines it will shine out the clearer. Those were the stories that stayed with you. That meant something, even if you were too small to understand why. But I think, Mr. Frodo, I do understand. I know now. Folk in those stories had lots of chances of turning back, only they didn’t. They kept going. Because they were holding on to something.
Frodo: What are we holding onto, Sam?
Sam: That there’s some good in this world, Mr. Frodo… and it’s worth fighting for.

That was one of the many dialogues that actually reduced me to tears. The Lord of the Rings isn’t just some fantasy novel written by an amateur. Its not just some self proclaimed out of this world novel which is set in medieval times . Throw in a few wizards for good measure! No. It isn’t. The wizards in the Lord of the Rings? Their not wizards. Yeah, they have magical staffs and they obviously help the hero remove all obstacles that are in his path with their little  gibberish chants and BADA BOOM! Happy ending. Gandalf wasn’t just a wizard towards Frodo. He was an angel sent from the Valar ; destined to guide the ring bearer, a little vulnerable hobbit who was unaware of the actual life-threatning dangers that loomed outside his little Shire. Gandalf was a friend.

Having said that, I think friendship is one of the powerful themes in this story. The bond between Sam, Frodo’s gardener and himself was definitely the most admirable. Check out my ‘Memories from Middle-Earth’ page on the bar just above the header, or somewhere around there. I kinda changed the layout… so keep an eye out for it. It will be really cool. I’m going to put up some portraits of my favourite characters which i drew by myself. Also, I’m planning to do a sculpture of Gandalf vs. the Nazgul on dragons out of clay. Hopefully it will turn out the way I plan it to. Updates on the Hobbit will be a definite yes and other interesting extras!

Finally a quote from GANDALF ( partial to the ones that are already at the sidebar… :D)

Gandalf: A wizard is never late, Frodo Baggins. Nor is he early. He arrives precisely when he means to.

BYE!

A penny for your thoughts.

